Read this manual in English

编辑器概述

编辑器在布局排版, 切换导航上设计得尽量让游戏开发更有效率. 编辑各个视图里的文件时都会有适当的编辑器自动弹出以方便使用.

打开编辑器

打开 Defold 编辑器, 首先呈现的是一个项目选择和新建窗口. 通过点选上面的按钮可以:

Home
显示最近编辑的项目以便快速打开. 这是默认视图.
New Project
创建新的项目, 然后会让你 (从 Template 窗口) 选择是否需要基于模板创建新项目, 还可以选择是否要参考 (Tutorial 窗口) 里的教程, 或者学习 (Sample 窗口) 里的示例项目.

new project

新建项目完成后所有项目文件都保存在了本地硬盘上.

详情请见 项目设立教程.

编辑器面板

Defold 编辑器被划分为许多面板, 或称视图, 以展示和编辑数据.

Editor 2

Assets 面板
展示项目的所有文件. 点选和滚动鼠标滚轮可以在面板上滑动. 在这个视图上可以做的操作有:
  • 双击 文件会根据文件类型启动相应的编辑器打开文件.
  • 拖放 文件可以向项目中添加资源或者移动资源到想要的位置.
  • 右键单击 会弹出 上下文菜单 , 可以用来进行新建文件/文件夹, 重命名, 删除, 查看文件依赖等操作.
Editor 面板

中间的视图显示当前打开的文件. 所有可视视图都可以进行如下操作:

  • 平移: Alt + 鼠标左键.
  • 缩放: Alt + 鼠标右键 或者使用鼠标滚轮.
  • 旋转: Ctrl + 鼠标左键.

场景试图右上角的工具栏里也有这些功能按钮: 平移, 旋转缩放.

toolbar

Outline 面板
这个视图以一个树形结构展示当前打开文件的内容. 大纲树的内容与场景视图内容是一一对应的, 可以方便操作:
  • 单击 选中一个物体. 按住 ShiftOption 键可以进行多选.
  • 拖放 移动物体. 在集合里把一个游戏对象拖放到另一个游戏对象上可以建立父子关系.
  • 右键单击 弹出 上下文菜单 以便进行添加, 删除选中的物体等操作.
Properties 面板
这个视图显示出当前选中物体的属性, 比如位置, 旋转, 动画等等.
Tools 面板
这个视图分为几个组. Console 组显示游戏输出和报错信息. 旁边是显示 编译错误, 查找结果 和编辑粒子曲线数据时用到的 曲线编辑器. 同时工具面板也负责与调试器进行交互.
Changed Files 面板
如果你的项目使用 Git 做版本控制, 这个视图会列出项目中被修改, 添加或者删除的文件. 同步机制会把你的本地项目文件与 Git 托管项目进行同步, 这种机制方便团队合作开发, 而且云端备份可以保证项目不易损坏丢失. 关于 Git 详见 版本控制教程. 相关操作:
  • 双击 文件显示版本区别窗口. 同样, 编辑器会根据文件类型选择合适的显示窗口.
  • 右键点击 文件弹出的上下文菜单中, 可以进行显示版本区别窗口, 回退文件的更改, 打开文件系统浏览器显示文件位置等操作.

同时编辑

如果同时打开了多个文件, 编辑器视图上方就会出现多个标签. 要想两个视图对照着同时进行编辑工作. 右键点击 想要移动的视图标签, 然后选择 Move to Other Tab Pane.

2 panes

使用视图标签还可以让两个视图交换位置或者把多个面板合为一组.

场景编辑器

双击集合文件或者游戏对象文件就会打开 场景编辑器:

Select object

选择物体
在主视图中点选可以选中单个物体. 框选可以选中绿色方框套住的多个物体. 被选中的物体则在 大纲 视图中被高亮显示.

大纲中还可以:

  • 点击左键拖拉 框选中多个物体.
  • 单击 选中单个物体.

按住 Shift (Mac) / Ctrl (Win/Linux) 键可以在已选中物体的基础上增选物体.

移动工具
Move tool 使用 移动工具 来移动物体. 移动工具位于场景编辑器右上角的工具栏内, 快捷键是 W.

Move object

被选中的物体会显示出坐标轴 (方块和箭头). 拖拽绿方块可以在屏幕空间内任意移动这个物体, 拖拽箭头则是让这个物体在 X, Y 或 Z 轴上进行移动. 拖拽别的方块则可以让这个物体在 X-Y 平面上 (在3D视图中可见) 移动或者在 X-Z , Y-Z 平面上移动.

旋转工具
Rotate tool 使用 旋转工具 来旋转物体. 旋转工具位于场景编辑器右上角的工具栏内, 快捷键是 E.

Move object

旋转工具的坐标轴显示为圆形. 拖拽橙色的圆可以在屏幕空间内任意旋转这个物体, 可以沿着 X, Y 和 Z 轴旋转. 因为 X 和 Y 轴的位置关系, 在2D视图上仅显示为穿过物体的两条线.

缩放工具
Scale tool 使用 缩放工具 来缩放物体. 缩放工具位于场景编辑器右上角的工具栏内, 快捷键是 R.

Scale object

缩放工具坐标轴显示为一组方块. 拖拽中间的方块可以将物体等比缩放 (包括Z轴). 同样也可以沿着 X, Y 和 Z 轴方向, 以及 X-Y , X-Z 和 Y-Z 平面上进行缩放.

新建文件

新建资源文件有两种方法, 通过点选菜单栏 File ▸ New... 按钮, 或者使用上下文菜单:

资源 浏览器目标位置 右键单击 , 选择 New... ▸ [file type] 按钮:

create file

为新文件取一个有意义的名字. 完整文件名包括类型扩展名会显示在 路径 对话框内:

create file name

向项目添加资源文件

要向项目添加资源 (图片, 声音, 模型等) 文件, 只需把文件拖放到 资源 浏览器里适当的位置上. 这样做实际上是把文件系统中的资源文件 拷贝 到项目中来. 详情请见 导入资源教程.

Import files

编辑器更新

编辑器自动检查更新. 检测到新版本的话就会在编辑器右下角或者项目选择视图里显示出来. 点击即可自动更新.

Update from project selection

Update from editor

配置

可以 通过设置窗口 修改编辑器配置.

键盘快捷键

键盘快捷键及自定义方法详见 键盘快捷键教程.

编辑器日志

使用编辑器时如果遇到了麻烦可以 向我们汇报, 并且连同编辑器日志一起上报. 编辑器日志存放路径如下:

  • Windows: C:\Users\ **Your Username** \AppData\Local\Defold
  • macOS: /Users/ **Your Username** /Library/Application Support/~/Library/Application Support/Defold
  • Linux: ~/.Defold

如果用命令行启动编辑器那么日志会显示在控制台上. 例如从 macOS 终端启动 Defold 编辑器:

$ > ./path/to/Defold.app/Contents/MacOS/Defold

常見問題

问: 运行编辑器需要什么硬件系统?

答: 编辑器最多占用 75% 的空闲系统内存. 一般 4 GB 内存的电脑就可以运行 Defold 小项目了. 中大型项目建议配备 6 GB 或更多内存.

问: Defold 测试版会自动更新吗?

答: Defold 测试版编辑器会在启动时检查并自动更新, 正式版也是.

问: 编辑器不启动, 项目不加载?

答: 检查 Defold 安装路径里是否有空格. 比如, 把编辑器放在mac系统 Applications 中的 Defold-macosx 文件夹里, 就能运行. 改成 Defold macosx 就无法运行. 在 Windows 上, 像 C:\Program Files\ 这样的路径都不行. 这归因于 Eclipse 框架的一个已知 bug.

问: 启动 Defold 时报了 “sun.security.validator.ValidatorException: PKIX path building failed” 的错?

答: 这个错是由于编辑器尝试建立 https 连接而服务器证书无法验证导致.

详情请见 这里.

Q: 操作中遇到 “java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space” 报错?

A: Defold 编辑器基于 Java, 所以某种情况下可能会造成内存不足. 可以尝试手动编辑配置文件来增加内存使用量. 配置文件叫做 config, 在 macOS 位于 Defold.app/Contents/Resources/ 文件夹下. 在 Windows 位于 Defold.exe 可执行文件同一个文件夹下, 在 Linux 位于 Defold 可执行文件同一个文件夹下. 打开 config 文件, 在 vmargs 后顶头加入 -Xmx6gb 参数. 加入 -Xmx6gb 的意思是使用 6 GB 内存 (默认 4GB). 如下所示:

vmargs = -Xmx6gb,-Dfile.encoding=UTF-8,-Djna.nosys=true,-Ddefold.launcherpath=${bootstrap.launcherpath},-Ddefold.resourcespath=${bootstrap.resourcespath},-Ddefold.version=${build.version},-Ddefold.editor.sha1=${build.editor_sha1},-Ddefold.engine.sha1=${build.engine_sha1},-Ddefold.buildtime=${build.time},-Ddefold.channel=${build.channel},-Ddefold.archive.domain=${build.archive_domain},-Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true,-Dsun.net.client.defaultConnectTimeout=30000,-Dsun.net.client.defaultReadTimeout=30000,-Djogl.texture.notexrect=true,-Dglass.accessible.force=false,--illegal-access=warn,--add-opens=java.base/java.lang=ALL-UNNAMED,--add-opens=java.desktop/sun.awt=ALL-UNNAMED,--add-opens=java.desktop/sun.java2d.opengl=ALL-UNNAMED,--add-opens=java.xml/com.sun.org.apache.xerces.internal.jaxp=ALL-UNNAMED

Editor overview

The editor allows you to browse and manipulate all files in your game project in an efficient manner. Editing files brings up a suitable editor and shows all relevant information about the file in separate views.

Starting the editor

When you run the Defold editor, you are presented with a project selection and creation screen. Click to select what you want to do:

Home
Click to show your recently opened projects so you can quickly access them. This is the default view.
New Project
Click if you want to create a new Defold project, then select if you want to base your project on a basic template (from the From Template tab), if you would like to follow a tutorial (the From Tutorial tab), or try one of the sample projects (the From Sample tab).

new project

When you create a new project it is stored on your local drive and any edits you do are saved locally.

You can learn more about the different options in the Project Setup manual.

The editor panes

The Defold editor is separated into a set of panes, or views, that display specific information.

Editor 2

The Assets pane
Lists all the files that are part of your project. Click and scroll to navigate the list. All file oriented operations can be made in this view:
  • Double click a file to open it in an editor for that file type.
  • Drag and drop to add files from elsewhere on your disk to the project or move files and folders to new locations in the project.
  • Right click to open a context menu from where you can create new files or folders, rename, delete, track file dependencies and more.
The Editor pane

The center view shows the currently open file in an editor for that file type. All visual editors allows you to change the camera view:

  • Pan: Alt + left mouse button.
  • Zoom: Alt + Right button (three button mouse) or Ctrl + Mouse button (one button). If your mouse has a scroll wheel, it can be used to zoom.
  • Rotate in 3D: Ctrl + left mouse button.

There is a toolbar in the top right corner of the scene view where you find object manipulation tools: Move, Rotate and Scale.

toolbar

The Outline pane
This view shows the content of the file currently being edited, but in a hierarchial tree structure. The outline reflects the editor view and allows you to perform operations on your items:
  • Click to select an item. Hold Shift or Option to expand the selection.
  • Drag and drop to move items. Drop a game object on another game object in a collection to child it.
  • Right click to open a context menu from where you can add items, delete selected items etc.
The Properties pane
This view shows properties associated with the currently selected item, like Position, Rotation, Animation etc, etc.
The Tools pane
This view has several tabs. The Console tab shows any error output or purposeful printing that you do while your game is running. Alongside the console are tabs containing Build Errors, Search Results and the Curve Editor which is used when editing curves in the particle editor. The Tools pane is also used for interacting with the integrated debugger.
The Changed Files pane
If your project uses the distributed version-control system Git this view lists any files that has been changed, added or deleted in your project. By synchronizing the project regularly you can bring your local copy in sync with what is stored in the project Git repository, that way you can collaborate within a team, and you won’t lose your work if disaster strikes. You can learn more about Git in our Version Control manual. Some file oriented operations can be performed in this view:
  • Double click a file to open a diff view of the file. The editor opens the file in a suitable editor, just like in the assets view.
  • Right click a file to open a pop up menu from where you can open a diff view, revert all changes done to the file, find the file on the filesystem and more.

Side-by-side editing

If you have multiple files open, a separate tab for each file is shown at the top of the editor view. It is possible to open 2 editor views side by side. Right click the tab for the editor you want to move and select Move to Other Tab Pane.

2 panes

You can also use the tab menu to swap the position of the two panes and join them to a single pane.

The scene editor

Double clicking a collection or game object file brings up the Scene Editor:

Select object

Selecting objects
Click on objects in the main window to select them. The rectangle surrounding the object in the editor view will highlight green to indicate what item is selected. The selected object is also highlighted in the Outline view.

You can also select objects by:

  • Click and drag to select all objects inside the selection region.
  • Click objects in the Outline view.

Hold Shift or (Mac) / Ctrl (Win/Linux) while clicking to expand the selection.

The move tool
Move tool To move objects, use the Move Tool. You find it in the toolbar in the top right corner of the scene editor, or by pressing the W key.

Move object

The selected object shows a set of manipulators (squares and arrows). Click and drag the green center square handle to move the object freely in screen space, click and drag the arrows to move the object along the X, Y or Z-axis. There arn also square handles for moving the object in the X-Y plane and (visible if rotating the camera in 3D) for moving the object in the X-Z and Y-Z planes.

The rotate tool
Rotate tool To rotate objects, use the Rotate Tool by selecting it in the toolbar, or by pressing the E key.

Move object

This tool consists of four circular manipulators. An orange manipulator that rotates the object in screen space and one for rotation around each of the X, Y and Z axes. Since the view is peripendicular to the X- and Y-axis, the circles only appear as two lines crossing the object.

The scale tool
Scale tool To scale objects, use the Scale Tool by selecting it in the toolbar, or by pressing the R key.

Scale object

This tool consists of a set of square handles. The center one scales the object uniformly in all axes (including Z). There also one handle for scaling along each of the X, Y and Z axes and one handle for scaling in the X-Y plane, the X-Z plane and the Y-Z plane.

Creating new project files

To create new resource files, either select File ▸ New... and then choose the file type from the menu, or use the context menu:

Right click the target location in the Assets browser, then select New... ▸ [file type]:

create file

Type a suitable name for the new file. The full file name including the file type suffix is shown under Path in the dialog:

create file name

Importing files to your project

To add asset files (images, sounds, models etc) to your project, simply drag and drop them to the correct position in the Assets browser. This will make copies of the files at the selected location in the project file structure. Read more about how to import assets in our manual.

Import files

Updating the editor

The editor will automatically check for updates. When an update is detected it will be shown in the lower right corner of the editor window and on the project selection screen. Pressing the Update Available link will download and update the editor.

Update from project selection

Update from editor

Preferences

You can modify the settings of the editor from the Preferences window.

Keyboard shortcuts

Keyboard shortcuts and how to customize them can be seen in the keyboard shortcut manual.

Editor logs

If you run into a problem with the editor and need to report an issue it is a good idea to provide log files from the editor itself. The editor logs files can be found here:

  • Windows: C:\Users\ **Your Username** \AppData\Local\Defold
  • macOS: /Users/ **Your Username** /Library/Application Support/ or ~/Library/Application Support/Defold
  • Linux: ~/.Defold

You can also get access to editor logs while the editor is running if it is started from a terminal/command prompt. To launch the editor from the terminal on macOS:

$ > ./path/to/Defold.app/Contents/MacOS/Defold

FAQ

Q: What are the system requirements for the editor?

A: The editor will use up to 75% of the available memory of the system. On a computer with 4 GB of RAM this should be enough for smaller Defold projects. For mid-sized or large projects it is recommended to use 6 GB or more of RAM.

Q: Are Defold beta versions auto-updating?

A: Yes. The Defold beta editor checks for an update at startup, just like the Defold stable version does.

Q: Why am I getting an error saying “java.awt.AWTError: Assistive Technology not found” when launching the editor?

A: This error is related to problems with Java assistive technology such as the NVDA screen reader. You probably have an .accessibility.properties file in your home folder. Remove the file and try launching the editor again. (Note: If you do use any assistive technology and require that file to be present then please reach out to us at info@defold.se to discuss alternative solutions).

Discussed here on the Defold forum.

Q: Why doesn’t the editor start or open my project?

A: Check if there are spaces in the path leading up to the Defold application. For instance, if you put the folder Defold-macosx containing the macOS version of the editor in your Applications folder, then you should be ok. If you rename the folder Defold macosx the editor might not start anymore. On Windows, putting Defold under C:\Program Files\ can trigger this problem. This is due to a known bug in the underlying Eclipse framework.

Q: Why am I getting an error saying “sun.security.validator.ValidatorException: PKIX path building failed” when launching the editor?

A: This exception occurs when the editor tries to make an https connection but the certificate chain provided by the server cannot be verified.

See this link for details on this error.

Q: Why am I am getting a “java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space” when performing certain operations?

A: The Defold editor is built using Java and in some cases the default memory configuration of Java might not be sufficient. If this happens you can manually configure the editor to allocate more memory by editing the editor configuration file. The configuration file, named config, is located in the Defold.app/Contents/Resources/ folder on macOS. On Windows it is located next to Defold.exe executable and on Linux next to the Defold executable. Open the config file and add -Xmx6gb to the line starting with vmargs. Adding -Xmx6gb will set the max heap size to 6 gigabytes (the default is usually 4Gb). It should look something like this:

vmargs = -Xmx6gb,-Dfile.encoding=UTF-8,-Djna.nosys=true,-Ddefold.launcherpath=${bootstrap.launcherpath},-Ddefold.resourcespath=${bootstrap.resourcespath},-Ddefold.version=${build.version},-Ddefold.editor.sha1=${build.editor_sha1},-Ddefold.engine.sha1=${build.engine_sha1},-Ddefold.buildtime=${build.time},-Ddefold.channel=${build.channel},-Ddefold.archive.domain=${build.archive_domain},-Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true,-Dsun.net.client.defaultConnectTimeout=30000,-Dsun.net.client.defaultReadTimeout=30000,-Djogl.texture.notexrect=true,-Dglass.accessible.force=false,--illegal-access=warn,--add-opens=java.base/java.lang=ALL-UNNAMED,--add-opens=java.desktop/sun.awt=ALL-UNNAMED,--add-opens=java.desktop/sun.java2d.opengl=ALL-UNNAMED,--add-opens=java.xml/com.sun.org.apache.xerces.internal.jaxp=ALL-UNNAMED