Read this manual in English

Android 开发

Android 设备允许自由允许你开发的应用. 可以很容易地编译好游戏拷贝到 Android 设备上. 本手册介绍了对于 Android 游戏的打包步骤. 推荐开发时, 从 开发应用 上运行游戏因为可以通过无线连接设备进行代码和内容的热重载.

Android 和 Google Play 签名

Android 要求每个 APK 文件在被安装到设备上或者在设备上更新之前必须进行数字签名. 如果你是安卓开发者, 只需要在把程序包上传到 Play Console 之前, 经过 Play App Signing 的自动处理即可. 然而, 你还可以选择手动对程序包进行签名以便上传到 Google Play, 其他应用商店以及在整个互联网上传播.

从 Defold 编辑器或者 命令行工具 打包安卓包需要提供一个 keystore (包括证书和公匙), 然后对应用签名时还要用到私匙. 没有的话, Defold 会自动生成一个临时调试用 keystore 用于打包和签名.

::: 注意 千万 不要 带着调试签名就上传到 Google Play 上去. 开发者必须自己制作属于自己的签名. :::

制作 keystore

::: 注意 Defold 应对安卓应用包签名的改变是从 1.2.173 版开始的, 就是使用单独的证书和密码来合成 keystore. :::

也可以 使用 Android Studio 或者通过使用控制台命令来生成签名:

keytool -genkey -v -noprompt -dname "CN=John Smith, OU=Area 51, O=US Air Force, L=Unknown, ST=Nevada, C=US" -keystore mykeystore.keystore -storepass 5Up3r_53cR3t -alias myAlias -keyalg RSA -validity 9125

这个命令会生成一个叫做 mykeystore.keystore 的签名, 其中包含了证书和密码. 密匙 5Up3r_53cR3t 保护其不备破解. 这个签名有效期为 25 年 (9125 天). 这个签名的id叫做 myAlias.

::: 注意 要把签名和密匙保存好. 如果要手动上传 Google Play 但是签名密码丢失的话就没办法使用 Google Play 来更新你的应用了. 图省事的话就用 Google Play App Signing 搞定签名吧. :::

安卓应用打包

编辑器打包安卓包十分方便. 打包之前可以为应用指定图标, 设置版本号等等, 都在 “game.project” 项目配置文件 里设置.

选择菜单栏 Project ▸ Bundle... ▸ Android Application... 就可以打包了.

要让编辑器自动生成调试用签名, 只需把 KeystoreKeystore password 字段留空即可:

Signing Android bundle

要让编辑器使用你自己指定的签名打包, 就要设置好 KeystoreKeystore password 字段. Keystore 的扩展名是 .keystore, 而密码要保存成文本 .txt 文件:

Signing Android bundle

Defold 支持创建 APK 和 AAB 文件. 从打包格式下拉菜单中选择.

点击 Create Bundle 会提示选择打包文件存放位置.

Android Application Package file

安装 Android 应用包

安装 APK

编辑器生成 Android 应用包 .apk 文件. 应用包可以通过 adb 工具 (见下文), 或者通过 Google Play 的 Google Play 开发者控制台 安装到设备上.

$ adb install Defold\ examples.apk
4826 KB/s (18774344 bytes in 3.798s)
  pkg: /data/local/tmp/my_app.apk
Success

Installing an AAB

对于 .aab 文件可以通过 Google Play 开发者控制台 上传给 Google Play. 也可以使用 .aab 文件制作 .apk 以便使用 Android 打包工具 在本地安装.

权限

Defold 引擎需要一些权限来运行各种功能. 权限在 AndroidManifest.xml 文件中定义, 并在 “game.project” 项目配置文件 中配置. 关于 Android 权限详见 官方文档. 默认配置需要如下权限:

android.permission.INTERNET and android.permission.ACCESS_NETWORK_STATE (Protection level: normal)

允许应用打开网络连接访问互联网. 需要上网时需要此权限. 见 (Android 官方文档-网络) 和 (Android 官方文档-网络状态).

android.permission.WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE (Protection level: dangerous)

允许应用写入外部存储器. 从 API level 19 开始, 读写 Context.getExternalFilesDir(String) 和 Context.getExternalCacheDir() 返回的应用目录不需要此权限. 需要 (使用 io.* 或 sys.save/load) 读写 sys.get_save_file() 之外的目录文件以及 Android manifest 里设置 android:minSdkVersion 小于 19 时需要此权限. ([Android 官方文档-外存写入).

android.permission.WAKE_LOCK (Protection level: normal)

允许应用阻止屏幕息屏和调光. 接收通知保持亮屏时需要此权限. ([Android 官方文档-亮屏锁定)

Android Debug Bridge

adb 命令行工具是一个多功能易使用的用来与 Android 设备进行交互的工具. 可以在 Mac, Linux 或者 Windows 上下载 Android SDK Platform-Tools 来安装 adb.

下载 Android SDK Platform-Tools 地址: https://developer.android.com/studio/releases/platform-tools. adb 工具就在 /platform-tools/ 里. 或者, 也通过各个平台的软件包管理器下载安装.

Ubuntu Linux:

$ sudo apt-get install android-tools-adb

Fedora 18/19:

$ sudo yum install android-tools

macOS (Homebrew)

$ brew cask install android-platform-tools

通过如下代码让 adb 通过电脑 USB 与 Android 设备进行连接:

$ adb devices
List of devices attached
31002535c90ef000    device

如果连接不上, 确保在 Android 设备上开启了 USB debugging. 在设备 设置 里找 开发者选项 (或称 开发选项).

Enable USB debugging

应用包调试

使用调试版引擎打包的应用 (即打包时选择 “Debug” 变体) 会把控制台信息全部发送至 Android 系统日志上. 使用 adb 工具的 logcat 命令访问日志. 使用标签 (-s [标签名]) 可以对日志信息进行过滤:

$ adb logcat -s "defold"
--------- beginning of /dev/log/system
--------- beginning of /dev/log/main
I/defold  ( 6210): INFO:DLIB: SSDP started (ssdp://192.168.0.97:58089, http://0.0.0.0:38637)
I/defold  ( 6210): INFO:ENGINE: Defold Engine 1.2.50 (8d1b912)
I/defold  ( 6210): INFO:ENGINE: Loading data from:
I/defold  ( 6210): INFO:ENGINE: Initialised sound device 'default'
I/defold  ( 6210):
D/defold  ( 6210): DEBUG:SCRIPT: Hello there, log!
...

常见问题

Q: Is it possible to hide the navigation and status bars on Android?

A: Yes, set the immersive_mode setting in the Android section of your game.project file. This lets your app take over the whole screen and capture all touch events on the screen.

Q: Why am I’m getting “Failure [INSTALL_PARSE_FAILED_INCONSISTENT_CERTIFICATES]” when installing a Defold game on device?

A: Android detects that you try to install the app with a new certificate. When bundling debug builds, each build will be signed with a temporary certificate. Uninstall the old app before installing the new version:

$ adb uninstall com.defold.examples
Success
$ adb install Defold\ examples.apk
4826 KB/s (18774344 bytes in 3.798s)
      pkg: /data/local/tmp/Defold examples.apk
Success

Did you spot an error or do you have a suggestion? Please let us know on GitHub!

GITHUB

Android development

Android devices allows you to freely run your own apps on them. It is very easy to build a version of your game and copy it onto an Android device. This manual explains the steps involved in bundling your game for Android. During development, running your game through the development app is often preferred since it allows you to hot reload content and code wirelessly directly to your device.

Android and Google Play signing process

Android requires that all APKs be digitally signed with a certificate before they are installed on a device or updated. If you use Android App Bundles, you need to sign only your app bundle before you upload it to the Play Console, and Play App Signing takes care of the rest. However, you can also manually sign your app for upload to Google Play, other app stores and for distribution outside of any store.

When you create an Android application bundle from the Defold editor or the command line tool you can provide a keystore (containing your certificate and key) and keystore password which will be used when signing your application. If you don’t, Defold generates a debug keystore and uses it when signing the application bundle.

You should never upload your application to Google Play if it was signed using a debug keystore. Always use a dedicated keystore which you have created yourself.

Creating a keystore

The Android signing process in Defold changed in version 1.2.173 from using a stand-alone key and certificate to a keystore.

You can create a keystore using Android Studio or from a terminal/command prompt:

keytool -genkey -v -noprompt -dname "CN=John Smith, OU=Area 51, O=US Air Force, L=Unknown, ST=Nevada, C=US" -keystore mykeystore.keystore -storepass 5Up3r_53cR3t -alias myAlias -keyalg RSA -validity 9125

This will create a keystore file named mykeystore.keystore containing a key and certificate. Access to key and certificate will be protected by the password 5Up3r_53cR3t. The key and certificate will be valid for 25 years (9125 days). The generated key and certificate will be identified by the alias myAlias.

Make sure to store the keystore and associated password somewhere safe. If you sign and upload your applications to Google Play yourself and the keystore or keystore password is lost there is no way for you to update the application on Google Play. You can avoid this by using Google Play App Signing and let Google sign your applications for you.

Creating an Android application bundle

The editor lets you easily create a stand alone application bundle for your game. Before bundling you can specify what icon(s) to use for the app, set version code etc in the “game.project” project settings file.

To bundle select Project ▸ Bundle... ▸ Android Application... from the menu.

If you want the editor to automatically create random debug certificates, leave the Keystore and Keystore password fields empty:

Signing Android bundle

If you want to sign your bundle with a particular keystore, specify the Keystore and Keystore password. The Kyestore is expected to have the .keystore file extension while the password is expected to be stored in a text file with the .txt extension:

Signing Android bundle

Defold supports the creation of both APK and AAB files. Select APK or AAB from the Bundle Format drop down.

Press Create Bundle when you have configured the application bundle settings. You will then be prompted to specify where on your computer the bundle will be created.

Android Application Package file

Installing an Android application bundle

Installing an APK

An .apk file can be copied to your device with the adb tool (see below), or to Google Play via the Google Play developer console.

$ adb install Defold\ examples.apk
4826 KB/s (18774344 bytes in 3.798s)
  pkg: /data/local/tmp/my_app.apk
Success

Installing an AAB

An .aab file can be uploaded to Google Play via the Google Play developer console. It is also possible to generate an .apk file from an .aab file to install it locally using the Android bundletool.

Permissions

The Defold engine requires a number of different permissions for all engine features to work. The permissions are defined in the AndroidManifest.xml, specified in the “game.project” project settings file. You can read more about Android permissions in the official docs. The following permissions are requested in the default manifest:

android.permission.INTERNET and android.permission.ACCESS_NETWORK_STATE (Protection level: normal)

Allows applications to open network sockets and access information about networks. These permission are needed for internet access. (Android official docs) and (Android official docs).

android.permission.WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE (Protection level: dangerous)

Allows an application to write to external storage. Starting in API level 19, this permission is not required to read/write files in your application-specific directories returned by Context.getExternalFilesDir(String) and Context.getExternalCacheDir(). This permission is needed if you intend to save/load files from disk (using io.* or sys.save/load) outside of the folder provided by sys.get_save_file() and have android:minSdkVersion set to less than 19 in the Android manifest. (Android official docs).

android.permission.WAKE_LOCK (Protection level: normal)

Allows using PowerManager WakeLocks to keep processor from sleeping or screen from dimming. This permission is needed to temporarily prevent the device from sleeping while receiving a push notification. (Android official docs)

Android Debug Bridge

The adb command line tool is an easy to use and versatile program that is used to interact with Android devices. You can download and install adb as part of the Android SDK Platform-Tools, for Mac, Linux or Windows.

Download the Android SDK Platform-Tools from: https://developer.android.com/studio/releases/platform-tools. You find the adb tool in /platform-tools/. Alternatively, platform specific packages can be installed through respective package managers.

On Ubuntu Linux:

$ sudo apt-get install android-tools-adb

On Fedora 18/19:

$ sudo yum install android-tools

On Mac OS X (Homebrew)

$ brew cask install android-platform-tools

You can veryfy that adb works by connecting your Android device to your computer via USB and issue the following command:

$ adb devices
List of devices attached
31002535c90ef000    device

If your device does not show up, verify that you have enabled USB debugging on the Android device. Open the device Settings and look for Developer options (or Development).

Enable USB debugging

Debugging an application bundle

A bundle built with the debug mode version of the engine (i.e. “Debug” selected as variant during bundling) will send all its console output to the Android system log. Access the log with the adb tool and give the logcat command. You probably want to filter the output by a tag (-s [tagname]):

$ adb logcat -s "defold"
--------- beginning of /dev/log/system
--------- beginning of /dev/log/main
I/defold  ( 6210): INFO:DLIB: SSDP started (ssdp://192.168.0.97:58089, http://0.0.0.0:38637)
I/defold  ( 6210): INFO:ENGINE: Defold Engine 1.2.50 (8d1b912)
I/defold  ( 6210): INFO:ENGINE: Loading data from:
I/defold  ( 6210): INFO:ENGINE: Initialised sound device 'default'
I/defold  ( 6210):
D/defold  ( 6210): DEBUG:SCRIPT: Hello there, log!
...

FAQ

Q: Is it possible to hide the navigation and status bars on Android?

A: Yes, set the immersive_mode setting in the Android section of your game.project file. This lets your app take over the whole screen and capture all touch events on the screen.

Q: Why am I’m getting “Failure [INSTALL_PARSE_FAILED_INCONSISTENT_CERTIFICATES]” when installing a Defold game on device?

A: Android detects that you try to install the app with a new certificate. When bundling debug builds, each build will be signed with a temporary certificate. Uninstall the old app before installing the new version:

$ adb uninstall com.defold.examples
Success
$ adb install Defold\ examples.apk
4826 KB/s (18774344 bytes in 3.798s)
      pkg: /data/local/tmp/Defold examples.apk
Success

Did you spot an error or do you have a suggestion? Please let us know on GitHub!

GITHUB